Home Cricket West Indies Announce 15-member Squad For ICC Women’s World Cup 2022

West Indies Announce 15-member Squad For ICC Women’s World Cup 2022

West Indies Announce 15-member Squad For ICC Women’s World Cup 2022

West Indies named a 15-member squad, to be led by star all-rounder Stafanie Taylor, for the ladies’s World Cup to be performed in New Zealand between March 4 and April 3.

Off-spinner Anisa Mohammed, who might be enjoying in her fifth World Cup, has been named vice-captain.

Anisa, who’s one wicket shy of 300 worldwide scalps throughout codecs, had led the aspect within the last match of the ODI collection in South Africa earlier this month after Taylor sustained a concussion.

Experienced leg-spinner Afy Fletcher can also be within the squad as she made her comeback after maternity go away.

The squad contains 5 younger gamers who could possibly be making their debuts on the marquee occasion — spinner Karishma Ramharack, pacer Aaliyah Alleyne, seamer Cherry Ann Fraser, all-rounder Chinelle Henry and opening batter Rashada Williams.

West Indies have additionally named three travelling reserves as a part of the match’s COVID-19 protocols — Kaysia Schultz, Mandy Mangru and Jannillea Glasgow.

“The squad chosen exhibits a mix of youth and expertise. We have Anisa Mohammed who’s enjoying in her fifth World Cup and can assist information the youthful ones chosen. We have 5 gamers who’ve had their maiden Cricket World Cup choice,” selector Ann Browne-John said in a statement.

“The team just completed a series against South Africa where the players got good preparation before the tournament. There were some relatively good showings with a few players having outstanding performances and it’s expected they would raise their levels even further during the competition.

“Afy Fletcher’s return strengthens the bowling department as she continues to be a world class leg-spinner.”

The gamers have travelled to New Zealand from South Africa and have now accomplished managed isolation.

West Indies play hosts New Zealand at Bay Oval in Tauranga on March 4.

Full Squad: Stafanie Taylor (captain), Anisa Mohammed, Aaliyah Alleyne, Shemaine Campbelle, Shamilia Connell, Deandra Dottin, Afy Fletcher, Cherry Ann Fraser, Chinelle Henry, Kycia Knight, Hayley Matthews, Chedean Nation, Karishma Ramharack, Shakera Selman, Rashada Williams.

Travelling reserves: Kaysia Schultz, Mandy Mangru, Jannillea Glasgow

Special: Get the Live-Updating IPL 2022 Auction Tally | IPL Mega Auction Live Updates and Cricket Score right here


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here