Home Cricket Still Eyeing Maiden Title Triumphs, Bangalore, Punjab Look to Begin Afresh

Still Eyeing Maiden Title Triumphs, Bangalore, Punjab Look to Begin Afresh

Still Eyeing Maiden Title Triumphs, Bangalore, Punjab Look to Begin Afresh

Quitting captaincy could unburden Virat Kohli the batter however the focus will nonetheless stay on the maestro in Royal Challengers Bangalore’s IPL 2022 opener towards Punjab Kings right here on Sunday.

For, it is going to be the primary time Kohli is not going to be main RCB in practically a decade, turning out solely as a participant, as an alternative.

Relinquishing captaincy, nevertheless, will by no means take away any consideration from Kohli, who will look to rediscover his superb contact and energy the franchise to a maiden title triumph within the 2022 version of the occasion, which begins in Mumbai on Saturday.


Both RCB and PBKS could have new captains on the helm in Faf du Plessis and Mayank Agarwal respectively, however Kohli will definitely entice numerous consideration now that he’s not entrusted with main the aspect, one thing which he final skilled in 2012.

In the 2013 version of the profitable event, Kohli took over captaincy from New Zealander Daniel Vettori, and left the publish final yr after main the crew for eight seasons.

RCB’s finest efficiency below Kohli’s captaincy was in 2016 when the crew emerged runners-up with the skipper amassing greater than 900 runs with 4 centuries, precisely the sort of season the 33-year-old will sit up for.

A veteran of many a battle, Kohli although nonetheless had “butterflies within the abdomen” ahead of the start of the tournament. And so is the case for most of the players gearing up for the tournament, now a 10-team affair with the addition of Lucknow Super Giants and Gujarat Titans.

Still eying their maiden title triumphs, both teams will be eager to make a strong statement first up.

Seasoned South African du Plessis, who was acquired by RCB for Rs 7 crore in the IPL mega auction last month, will captain the side even as it continues its search for its first-ever title, having failed in the previous 14 outings.

At 37, du Plessis doesn’t have many IPL seasons left in him and he would be too eager to guide the team to an elusive triumph.

While they will have a new captain with fresh ideas, RCB will have to grapple with the absence of Australian duo of Glenn Maxwell and Josh Hazlewood in the team’s first few matches.

Maxwell is away for his marriage while Hazlewood is in Pakistan with the Test side and will miss three matches at least, so is pacer Jason Behrendorff.

But RCB still have some good options in players like Sherfane Rutherford, Finn Allen etc. A lot of focus will be on Sri Lankan all-rounder Wanindu Hasaranga and Dinesh Karthik, representing the team for the first time.

On the other hand, the Kings will miss the services of Jonny Bairstow, who is in the West Indies with the England Test side in their first game, and also Kagiso Rabada as he has just finished his ODI engagement for South Africa against Bangladesh.

In the absence of Rabada their bowling attack looks quite thin and they would hope that back-up players deliver the goods against a strong RCB batting unit.

There will also be a lot of focus on the explosive Shahrukh Khan who was bought back in the auction for a whopping Rs 9 crore for his excellent season at the domestic cricket across formats.

Teams (from):

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, Mohammed Siraj, Faf du Plessis, Harshal Patel, Wanindu Hasaranga, Dinesh Karthik, Josh Hazlewood, Shahbaz Ahmed, Anuj Rawat, Akash Deep, Mahipal Lomror, Finn Allen, Sherfane Rutherford, Jason Behrendorff, Suyash Prabhudesai, Chama Milind, Aneeshwar Gautam, Karn Sharma, David Willey, Luvnith Sisodia, Siddharth Kaul.

Punjab Kings: Shikhar Dhawan, Mayank Agarwal, Arshdeep Singh, Kagiso Rabada, Jonny Bairstow, Rahul Chahar, Harpreet Brar, Shahrukh Khan, Prabhsimran Singh, Jitesh Sharma, Ishan Porel, Liam Livingstone, Odean Smith, Sandeep Sharma, Raj Angad Bawa, Rishi Dhawan, Prerak Mankad, Vaibhav Arora, Writtick Chatterjee, Baltej Dhanda, Ansh Patel, Nathan Ellis, Atharva Taide, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Benny Howell.

Match stars at 7.30 PM IST.

Get all the newest updates on Cricket News, Cricket Photos, Cricket Videos, IPL Auction 2022 and Cricket Scores right here


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here