South Africa vs Bangladesh, 2nd Test, Day 1 Live Updates: Aiming to clinch the 2-match sequence, hosts South Africa tackle Bangladesh within the second Test at St George’s Park in Port Elizabeth. Home captain Dean Elgar gained the toss on Friday and opted to bat in opposition to the guests.

South Africa are fielding an unchanged XI within the recreation whereas Bangladesh have made a few adjustments; Taijul Islam comes rather than Taskin Ahmed and Tamim rather than Shadman.

“We will bat. It does look a bit dry, with us playing two spinners, a good start will be handy. We’re playing the same team, working on a bit of consistency as a leader. We can be more aggressive as a seam bowling unit, it’s important for someone to notch up a three-figure score with the bat. A lot of people would have written us off, but it’s been a brilliant run so far. We have one more Test and it’s so important for us to go for a win, especially with the World Test championships,” stated Elgar on the toss.


“We have to make a strong comeback with the bat after what happened in Durban. I thought we played the first four days well, we would have batted first as well (had we won the toss),” stated Bangladesh captain Mominul Haque.

Bangladesh have by no means performed a match in Port Elizabeth but when anybody is aware of what to anticipate from the St George’s Park pitch it’s their head coach Russell Domingo. What is unsure after Bangladesh’s 220-run defeat within the first Test in Durban, although, is the diploma to which the senior gamers are ready to take Domingo’s recommendation.

South Africa, lacking 5 gamers contracted to Indian Premier League groups, weren’t solely convincing however are unlikely to contemplate main adjustments. Fast bowler Lutho Sipamla may substitute all-rounder Wiaan Mulder, who had a poor match in Durban.

Here are the taking part in XIs:

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mominul Haque(c), Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das(w), Yasir Ali, Mehidy Hasan, Taijul Islam, Khaled Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain.

South Africa: Dean Elgar(c), Sarel Erwee, Keegan Petersen, Temba Bavuma, Ryan Rickelton, Kyle Verreynne(w), Wiaan Mulder, Keshav Maharaj, Simon Harmer, Lizaad Williams, Duanne Olivier.

Get all the most recent updates on Cricket News, Cricket Photos, Cricket Videos, IPL 2022 Live Updates and Cricket Scores right here


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here