Home Cricket Australia Win Their Fifth Women’s T20 World Cup Title Defeating India

Australia Win Their Fifth Women’s T20 World Cup Title Defeating India

Australia Win Their Fifth Women’s T20 World Cup Title Defeating India

On This Day in 2020: Just two years in the past, Australia received its fifth Women’s T20 World Cup title after beating India on the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG). Australia received by 85 runs on March 8 in 2020. Meg Lanning’s aspect tore via India’s batting order and displayed an all-round efficiency to raise their record-extending fifth successive title. India, who have been enjoying their maiden T20 World Cup last, have been fully outclassed in all departments.

Record crowds on the MCG rejoiced in Melbourne, because of breathtaking batting of openers Alyssa Healy and Beth Mooney smashed half centuries after the house staff opted to bat first. Healy scored 75 off 39 deliveries together with a report half-century off simply 30 deliveries, earlier than shedding her wicket to Radha Yadav.

Meanwhile, Mooney went on to attain 78 runs from 54 balls and remained unbeaten until the tip. The opening pair shared a gap stand of 115 and helped the staff submit a strong complete of 184/4 in 20 overs.

Deepti Sharma gave India the much-needed breakthrough by taking two essential wickets in a single over, however all in all, the guests displayed a poor efficiency, particularly within the fielding division. Healy was dropped on 9, whereas Mooney on eight and each made India pay by reaching double figures.

Chasing the large complete, India’s high order collapsed as Shafali Verma, Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues and skipper Harmanpreet Kaur have been out within the first six overs. Wicket-keeper Taniya Bhatia retired harm within the second over after getting hit on the helmet of the bowling of spinner Jess Jonassen.

Under stress, the Women in Blue tried to battle again with efforts from Deepti Sharma and Veda Krishnamurthy however have been all out for 99 in 19.1 overs.Notably, Sharma was the very best scorer for India with 33 runs, adopted by Krishnamurthy who scored 19 and concussion substitute Richa Ghosh who made 18 runs. Seamer Megan Schutt and spinner Jess Jonassen claimed 4/18 and three/20, respectively, to assist their staff retain its World Champion title.

Get all the newest updates on Cricket News, Cricket Photos, Cricket Videos, IPL Auction 2022 and Cricket Scores right here


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here