Top 5 IPL skippers who left captaincy halfway via the match: The Indian Premier League (IPL) is broadly reckoned as the most important T20 cricket league throughout the globe. The fast-paced T20 sport is cherished by a number of followers and hundreds of thousands of individuals tune in to look at the proceedings of the Indian Premier League yearly. Currently, the fifteenth version of the gala Indian T20 match is underway and it’s been an entertaining and enjoyable journey thus far.


Participating within the Indian Premier League (IPL) is a dream of each cricketer throughout the globe. At least as soon as of their life, each cricketer needs to play a season of the IPL. However, only some lucky ones get the chance and get chosen via the public sale course of and play with their Indian counterparts within the elite Indian league.



Besides enjoying within the Indian Premier League, a number of cricketers get the chance to spearhead a workforce. Leading a franchise within the IPL is as exhausting as getting captaincy on a nationwide facet. 

Though over time, within the IPL, now we have seen a number of captains change into profitable with their management, whereas, there are various who failed miserably throughout their stint because the captain. There have been a number of cases within the Indian Premier League when the captains have stood down from their roles halfway via the match, on account of numerous causes, and the franchise needed to appoint a contemporary face to guide.

In this very article, we are going to check out the highest 5 IPL skippers who left captaincy halfway via the IPL.

Top 5 IPL skippers who left captaincy halfway via the IPL:

CSK – Ravindra Jadeja:


The newest instance of the halfway captaincy change is premier all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja. Former CSK skipper MS Dhoni determined to face down from his captaincy following years of main the workforce and handed over the reins of the facet to skilled Ravindra Jadeja forward of the IPL 2022.

Being an skilled campaigner, followers and the franchise anticipated Ravindra Jadeja to maintain the CSK legacy alive together with his in a position captaincy, nevertheless, every little thing went precisely the other for the all-rounder.

The defending champions confronted a string of defeats earlier than registering their maiden victory within the IPL 2022. Neither Jadeja might convey out the perfect from his workforce, nor he might unleash the perfect with the bat. Owing to the extreme stress, Jadeja left CSK captaincy after the eighth match and handed over the reins again to MS Dhoni.

DD – Gautam Gambhir

Top 5 IPL skippers who left captaincy midway through the tournament
Image: IPL

Gautam Gambhir’s title in Kolkata Knight Riders’ historical past ebook has been written in golden ink. The southpaw took KKR to 2 IPL title victories below his captaincy in 2012 and 2014. However, he was faraway from the franchise forward of the 2018 auctions.

GG went to the public sale pool in 2018 and was picked up by Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals). He was straightaway made the skipper of the facet, nevertheless, future had one thing else written for 2 instances IPL successful skipper.

In his first six appearances for Delhi Daredevils, Gautam Gambhir took his facet to only a solitary win and he subsequently determined to step down from the captaincy. Soon Delhi introduced their younger skipper in Shreyas Iyer, who led the facet for 2 years earlier than getting dropped forward of the IPL 2022 mega public sale.

ALSO READ: Washington Sundar once again injured, coach Tom Moody provides updates

KKR – Dinesh Karthik

IPL 2022: 3 Players Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) might retain in IPL 2022 Mega Auction

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) suffered the captaincy turmoil when Dinesh Karthik determined to relinquish his management position halfway via the IPL 2022. KKR bagged the companies of Dinesh Karthik throughout the 2018 public sale and was assigned the captain’s position.

Karthik efficiently led KKR within the two-season, nevertheless, throughout IPL 2020 on account of his private batting failures, he determined to step down from his duties. Though KKR was in a reasonably good place with 4 wins from seven matches, runs appeared to have dried from Karthik’s bat which prompted the cricketer to focus solely on his batting and depart the captaincy.

Subsequently, KKR appointed Eoin Morgan because the chief of the facet for the rest of IPL 2020 and IPL 2021.

SRH – David Warner:

Vivo IPL 2021: No explanation on why I was sacked from the captaincy of SRH: David Warner

SRH skipper David Warner has additionally been a sufferer of a halfway captaincy change within the Indian Premier League. Notably, Warner has performed a key position in constructing Sunrisers Hyderabad over time.

The Aussie batter was excellent together with his batting throughout his keep within the SRH. He even took SRH to their solely IPL victory again in 2016 because the skipper of the facet. However, nobody knew sooner or later he will probably be sacked from the workforce.

Unfortunately, Warner endured a disappointing season with the bat throughout the IPL 2021. The cricketer was unable to attain runs for the workforce. SRH relied an excessive amount of on the companies of Warner and couldn’t carry out nicely.

Midway via the IPL 2021, SRH administration determined to sack Warner from the captaincy and have the roles to Kiwi Kane Williamson. 

RR – Ajinkya Rahane:

Top 5 IPL skippers who left captaincy midway through the tournament
Image: BCCI

Inaugural champions Rajasthan Royals felt Ajinkya Rahane was the suitable man at hand over the captaincy of the workforce forward of the IPL 2018 after the workforce determined to drop Steve Smith from the captaincy on account of his notorious sandpaper scandal.

Steve Smith was banned from worldwide cricket and needed to depart his worldwide captaincy as nicely. RR was on the identical line and eliminated Smith from the management and subsequently appointed Rahane because the chief of the pack.

To everybody’s shock, Rahane couldn’t convey the perfect out of his troops and his workforce misplaced six of its preliminary eight matches. Under stress, Ajinkya Rahane determined to go away the captaincy throughout the IPL 2018 and the RR administration as soon as once more handed over the reins to Steve Smith.

ALSO READ: Schedule and Venues for IPL 2022 playoffs announced by the BCCI


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here