IPL franchises bag all 6 groups in South Africa’s newest T20 League: Indian Premier League (IPL) franchise homeowners have now efficiently stepped into South Africa’s new T20 league after shopping for all of the six inducted franchises. Reliance Industries Limited, Sun TV Network, CSK, Royals Sports Group, RPSG and JSW Sports, homeowners of the IPL groups, have been confirmed because the profitable bidders of the brand new T20 league in South Africa.

In a press launch, Cricket South Africa (CSA) confirmed the identical. Teams from Cape Town, Durban, Gqeberha (previously generally known as Port Elizabeth), Johannesburg, Paarl and Pretoria at the moment are beneath the administration of Mumbai Indians, Lucknow SuperGiants, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Chennai Super Kings, Rajasthan Royals and Delhi Capitals respectively.


IPL Franchise Owners Team in SA’s T20 League
Mumbai Indians Cape Town
Lucknow Super Giants Durban
Surnisers Hyderabad Gqeberha
Chennai Super Kings Johannesburg
Rajasthan Royals Paarl
Delhi Capitals Pretoria

The newest T20 Franchise recreation attracted 29 bidders within the bidding organised by Deloitte Corporate Finance. Cricket South Africa made out there 10 venues for the profitable bidders to arrange their base camp, six of which have been lastly shortlisted.

Indian Franchises moving into the abroad cricket leagues is a step towards rising their world model picture. Earlier, a few IPL franchise homeowners efficiently bid for the franchises in UAE T20 League. Moreover, the IPL homeowners have their groups within the Caribbean Premier League (CPL) as nicely. 

Notably, that is the third try by CSA to efficiently run a sustainable T20 cricket league. Earlier, the cricket board didn’t run Global League T20 in 2017 and the Mzansi Super League after the broadcasting rights of the latter league remained unsold for 3 years. 

ALSO READ: ODI Cricket: How to Bring Back the Audience and Relevance in ODI Cricket in 2022?

The upcoming T20 league is saved as a ‘top priority’ by Cricket South Africa with a view to make this try a profitable one. One of essentially the most aggressive strikes taken by CSA towards the success of the T20 league is by forfeiting the three-match ODI sequence in opposition to Australia thereby risking SA’s direct qualification within the ODI World Cup 2023.

Cricket South Africa chief, Graeme Smith, who will quickly step in because the commissioner of the brand new T20 league, echoed the thrill for the start of the brand new T20 league in South Africa.

“I’m extremely honoured to be entrusted with leading this exciting new venture,” Smith mentioned. “I’m deeply dedicated to South African cricket and completely happy to serve the sport as finest I can. I’m excited by the chance to ship the brand new league, which I consider will probably be an especially aggressive product, one that may deliver the much-needed funding into the sport and supply new alternatives for gamers around the globe and extra importantly to our SA house grown expertise.

“The response from stakeholders has been very positive thus far and we’ve made great progress in the initial stages. We’re determined to deliver a valuable, sustainable and appealing tournament for South African cricket.”

ALSO READ: ASIA CUP 2022: India Squad For Asia Cup 2022 (Predicted)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here